/ The collections

Apsara

Rajasthan vernacular architecture

For our next spring-summer outerwear collection, our creations are inspired by Rajasthan vernacular architecture’s typical forms. An arid region located in the northwest of India characterized by the cultural heritage of the Rajput clans and experiencing increasingly regular and intense periods of drought. Our coats, Rambha, Tilottama, Menaka, Anjana and Urvashi are embodying the architecture of the Rajasthan of tomorrow. Like all our collections, Apsara tells a utopia, a new page in the history of Oblique.

Download the lookbook.

The Consortium Museum host Oblique's new futuristic jackets' collection, Apsara, under Maxime Antony's direction. A young woman adorned of Apsara's jackets wanders in this unique architectural site. She strides in courtyards, corridors, roams footbridges, and stroll between artworks. The music oscillates between nervous and violent melodies, while punctuated by laments. In this immaculate and unstable universe, spaces are complex and time is disturbed. Everything is disorienting, yet our protagonist walks confidently towards a destination only she knows.

 

To know more about the video.

Inspiration

 RAJPUT ARCHITECTURE 

Apsara is inspired by the vernacular architecture of Rajasthan, an arid region in northwestern India. “The land of kings” in Sanskrit takes its name from the Rajput populations. This Hindu community is made up of multiple patrilineal clans headed by a king who bears the title of Maharaja.

The region is dotted with typically fortified citadels, with Hindu and Jain temples within them with ancient architecture. The most recent have palaces with rich sculpted ornaments borrowed from the Mughal style. This synthesis of the Rajpu-Mughal is considered the golden age of Rajasthani architecture.

Each palace is a trace left by the kings of the various Rajput clans. They are witnesses to a historical, geographical, climatic, political reality but also a cultural vector. These buildings embody the unity of the Rajput community and the diversity of different clans.

The fortifications materialize the war ideology and military history of the region.
The temples attest to the central dimension of religion in Rajput society. The ostentatious palaces mark the need of every king to assert his position of power and the legitimacy of his dynasty.

 RAJASTHAN DESERTIFICATION 

Today, Rajasthan faces major ecological and social issues. In particular, the droughts are multiplying and intensifying due to the regional climate and global warming. These droughts weaken access to a vital resource, water. They even go so far as to threaten the monsoon, the endemic seasonal wind that generates the generous summer rains.

How could architecture respond to contemporary issues in Rajasthan while preserving the regional cultural heritage? What could be the vernacular architecture of Rajasthan of tomorrow?

OUR COLLECTION

Apsara’s starting point is a testament to our deep interest in architecture. We inspired from the singular Rajput culture which gave rise to buildings with a typical style, almost futuristic. More precisely five regional constructions dating from various periods, but all relating to the typical Rajput style. By taking an interest in Rajasthan, we quickly became aware of the droughts hitting the region.

The Apsara collection takes its name from eponymous minor deities of Hindu cosmogony. Apsaras, are nymphs whose name means in Sanskrit "those who glide on water". They are associated with rivers and the ocean. Each coat is named after the most famous of them Rambha, Tilottama, Menaka, Anjana and Urvashi. These names carry the legacy of the Rajput culture, refer to the contemporary issues of water supplies in Rajasthan and suggest one of the possible futures resolving them...

Our utopia

Since the end of the 21st century, monsoons have become rarer due to the rise in ocean temperature. The difficulties of the Indian government to react to the phenomenon, particularly in the arid region of Rajasthan, allowed a local political figure to emerge. The fourteenth Maharaja of the Rajput clan of Jaipur mobilized upon his accession to the throne in 3042, to find solutions to repeated droughts.

In 2267, he inaugurated the monumental construction site of a cutting-edge research center dedicated to hydraulic innovation. In despite of the efforts made, the last monsoon was recorded in 2286. It was his eldest daughter, the fifteenth Maharani of Jaipur who inaugurates Apsara, the solar water palace, to the whole world in 2292.

The building is composed in particular of the Rambha baoli, the inexhaustible step well, of Tilottama, the most prestigious hydraulic research laboratory in the world, of Menaka, the solar ramparts, the Anjana bio-reservoirs and the cenotaph of the monsoon, Urvashi.


Discover the episodes of our utopia throughout the season in our chronicles.

English en

/ Les collections

Apsara

Architecture vernaculaire du Rajasthan

Pour notre prochaine collection d’outerwear printemps-été nos créations s’inspirent des formes caractéristiques de l’architecture vernaculaire du Rajasthan. Une région aride située au nord-ouest de l’Inde marquée par l’héritage culturel des clans rajpoutes et qui connaît des périodes de sécheresse de plus en plus régulières et intenses. Nos vestes, Rhambha, Tilottama, Menaka, Anjana et Urvashi incarnent l’architecture du Rajasthan de demain. Comme toutes nos collections, Apsara raconte également une utopie. Une nouvelle page de l’histoire d’Oblique.


Téléchargez le lookbook.

Le Consortium Museum accueille les vestes futuristes de la nouvelle collection d'Oblique, Apsara, sous la direction de Maxime Antony. Une jeune femme défile dans ce site architectural unique. Elle arpente les cours, les couloirs, parcours les passerelles et déambules entre les œuvres. La musique, ponctuée de complaintes, oscille entre sonorités nerveuses et violentes. Dans cet univers immaculé et instable, les espaces sont complexes et le temps semble perturbé. Tout est fait pour nous désorienter. Pourtant, notre protagoniste marche avec assurance vers une destination qu'elle est la seule à connaître.


Pour en savoir plus sur la vidéo.

Inspiration

 L'ARCHITECTURE RAJPOUTE  

Apsara s’inspire de l’architecture vernaculaire du Rajasthan, le pays des rois en sanskrit qui tire son nom des populations rajpoutes. Cette communauté hindouiste est composée de multiples clans patrilinéaires qui ont à leur tête un roi qui porte le titre de Maharaja.

La région est parsemée de citadelles fortifiées typiques, avec en leur sein des temples hindous et jaïns à l'architecture millénaire. Les plus récents sont munis de palais aux riches ornements sculptés empruntés au style Moghole. Cette synthèse de style rajpoute-moghole est considérée comme l’âge d’or de l’architecture du Rajasthan.

Chaque palais est une trace laissée par les rois des différents clans rajpoutes. Ils sont les témoins d’une réalité historique, géographique, climatique, politique, mais également vecteurs culturels. Ces édifices incarnent l’unité de la communauté rajpoute et la diversité des différents clans.

Les fortifications matérialisent l’idéologie guerrière et l’histoire militaire de la région. Les temples attestent de la dimension centrale de la religion dans la société rajpoute. Les palais aux agréments ostentatoires marquent le besoin de chaque roi d’affirmer sa position de pouvoir et la légitimité de sa dynastie.

 LA DÉSERTIFICATION DU RAJASTHAN  

Aujourd'hui, le Rajasthan fait face à des problématiques écologiques et sociales d’ampleur. Notamment les sécheresses qui se multiplient et s'intensifient dû au climat régional et au réchauffement global. Ces sécheresses fragilisent l’accès à une ressource primordiale, l'eau. Elles vont même jusqu’à menacer la mousson, le vent saisonnier endémique qui génère les généreuses pluies d'été.

Comment l’architecture pourrait-elle répondre aux problématiques contemporaines du Rajasthan tout en conservant l’héritage culturel régional ? Quelle pourrait être l’architecture vernaculaire du Rajasthan de demain ?

NOTRE COLLECTION

Le point de départ d’Apsara témoigne de notre intérêt profond pour l’architecture. Nous nous sommes inspirés de la singulière culture Rajpoute qui a donné à ses bâtiments des formes caractéristiques, quasi-futuristes. Plus précisément cinq édifices régionaux, aux fonctions différentes et datant de diverses époques, mais tous relatifs au style rajpoute. En nous intéressant au Rajasthan nous avons rapidement pris connaissance des sécheresses qui frappent la région.  

La collection Apsara tire son nom de divinités éponymes mineures de la cosmogonie hindouiste. Les apsaras, sont des nymphes dont le nom signifie littéralement en sanskrit celles qui glissent sur l’eau. Elles sont associées aux rivières et à l’océan. Chaque veste porte le nom des plus connues d’entre elles Rambha, Tilottama, Menaka, Anjana et Urvashi. Ces noms portent l’héritage de la culture rajpoute, renvoient aux problématiques contemporaines de d'approvisionnement en eau de la région du Rajasthan qui s'aggravent et laissent entrevoir l’un des futurs possibles pour y répondre…

Notre utopie

Depuis la fin du 21ᵉ siècle, les moussons se sont raréfiées à cause de la hausse de température des océans. Les difficultés du gouvernement Indien à réagir au phénomène, particulièrement dans la région aride du Rajasthan, ont permis à une figure politique locale d'émerger. La quatorzième Maharadja du clan rajpoute de Jaipur se mobilise dès son accession au trône en 3042, pour trouver des solutions aux sécheresses répétées.

En 2267, il inaugure le chantier monumental d’un centre de recherche de pointe dédié à l'innovation hydraulique. Outre les efforts déployés, la dernière mousson est recensée en 2286. C’est sa fille ainée, la quinzième Maharani de Jaipur qui en 2292 présente au monde entier Apsara, le palais solaire des eaux.

L’édifice est composé notamment du Rambha baoli, le puits à degrés inépuisable, de Tilottama, le laboratoire de recherche hydraulique le plus prestigieux du monde, de Menaka, les remparts solaires, des réservoirs Anjana et le cénotaphe de la mousson, Urvashi.


Découvrez les épisodes de notre utopie tout au long de la saison dans nos chroniques.

français fr