/ The collections

ASSIM/LATION

Our coats

Megrez, Mizar, Mérak, Dubhé and Alioth are the traditional names of five stars of the constellation Ursa Major, the Big Dipper. We have chosen this constellation in connection with the inspiration for our collection.
The bear is a sacred animal in the Ainu culture,
master of the forests and protector of terrestrial life.

Inspiration

  AINU AND CULTURAL ASSIMILATION 


The Ainu are the first people of Japan living mainly in the northern area. The Ainu culture is known for its advanced textile know-how. Their most emblematic fabric is made from elm bark fibers. Their ceremonial clothes are decorated with elaborate embroideries that are highly symbolic, protecting them from evil. 


This minority is marked by a process of cultural assimilation. Either a process of acculturation, an abandonment of one's culture of origin in favor of another, voluntarily or under duress.

  AINU CULTURAL ASSIMILATION 

 

The modern Japanese state forced the Ainu to abandon their culture, especially by forbidding them to use their language or practice their religion since the end of the 19th century. Discriminatory practices which have slowly cut off a population from its cultural heritage, causing its slow disappearance by enclosing it in parallel in backward-looking, exotic and folklorist representations.

It was not until 2008 that the State recognized the existence of the Ainu and April 2019 that they were recognized as an integral part of the Japanese population.

Questioning

How do these populations reappropriate this heritage?
What should we keep, what should we change?
How to reinvent a contemporaneity to a population captured as an immutable and fixed essence, identical to itself since immemorial times in an allochronic perspective?

Our collection

We responded to this fantasized questioning by conceptualizing ASSIM/LATION, a collection freely inspired by the structure of Ainu garments, in particular collars and sleeves. A choice influenced by our perennial artistic line which tends to enhance the form.

We have arbitrarily abandoned the rusticity of traditional fabrics, elm bark and cotton, in favor of a warmer and more sophisticated material, a woolen and cashmere cloth. We have replaced the ancestral protective embroidery, which has an extremely intimate meaning, with a triangular cut, signature of our brand.

We have incorporated elements of Japanese inspiration to signify the reciprocal influence of cultures on each other when they recognize each other and see each other as equal, a recent status for Ainu cultural heritage.

English en

/ Les collections

ASSIM/LATION

Nos manteaux

Megrez, Mizar, Mérak, Dubhé et Alioth sont les noms traditionnels de cinq des étoiles qui composent la constellation Ursa Major, la Grande Ourse. Nous avons choisi cette constellation en lien avec l’inspiration de notre collection. L’ours est un animal sacré dans la culture aïnou,
maître des forêts et protecteur de la vie terrestre.

Inspiration

  AÏNOUS ET ASSIMILATION CULTURELLE  


Les Aïnous sont un peuple premier vivant principalement au nord du Japon. La culture aïnou est connue pour son savoir-faire textile pointu. Leur tissu le plus emblématique est issu de fibres d’écorces d'orme. Leurs vêtements de cérémonie sont décorés de broderies élaborées hautement symboliques, protégeant du mal. 


Cette minorité est marquée par un processus d’assimilation culturelle. Soit un processus d'acculturation, un abandon de sa culture d'origine au profit d’une autre, volontairement ou sous la contrainte.

  L'ASSIMILATION CULTURELLE AÏNOU  


L'État japonais moderne a contraint les Aïnous à abandonner leur culture, notamment en leur interdisant d'utiliser leur langue ou encore de pratiquer leur religion depuis la fin du XIXᵉ siècle. Des pratiques discriminatoires qui ont lentement coupé une population de son héritage culturel, entraînant sa lente disparition tout en l'enfermant, en parallèle, dans des représentations passéistes, exotiques et folkloriques.

Il faut attendre 2008 pour que l'État reconnaisse l'existence des Aïnous et avril 2019 pour qu'ils soient reconnus comme partie intégrante de la population japonaise.

Problématique

Comment ces populations se réapproprient cet héritage ?
Que doit-on garder, que doit-on changer ?
Comment réinventer une contemporanéité
à une population saisie comme une essence immuable et fixe, identique à elle-même depuis des temps immémoriaux dans une perspective allochronique ?

Notre collection

Nous avons répondu à cette problématique fantasmée en conceptualisant ASSIM/LATION, une collection librement inspirée de la structure des vêtements aïnous, notamment des cols et des manches. Un choix influencé par notre ligne artistique pérenne qui tend à valoriser la forme.

Nous avons arbitrairement abandonné la rusticité des tissus traditionnels, l'écorce d'orme et le coton, au bénéfice d'une matière plus chaude et plus sophistiquée, un drap de laine et cachemire. Nous avons remplacé les broderies protectrices ancestrales dont la signification est extrêmement intime, par une découpe triangulaire signature de notre marque.

Nous avons intégré des éléments d'inspiration japonaise pour signifier l'influence réciproque des cultures les unes sur les autres quand ces dernières se reconnaissent mutuellement et se considèrent comme égales, un statut récent pour l'héritage culturel aïnou.

français fr